Jammu and Kashmir Headlines

IPL Season 7: Dhoni’s Squad Shatter Delhi Daredevils by 8 Wickets at Feroz Shah Kotla

 Breaking News
  • No posts where found

IPL Season 7: Dhoni’s Squad Shatter Delhi Daredevils by 8 Wickets at Feroz Shah Kotla

May 06
14:38 2014

cskNew Delhi, Tuesday, May 6 – Nothing could have been worst for Delhi Daredevils than a defeat in their own territory on Monday as Chennai Super Kings crushed them badly by logging a win of 8 wickets at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi. Witnessing a number of the home audience, skipper Kevin Pietersen of DD was expecting a good show from his young team, which even didn’t disappoint him in this regard and put a total of 178 runs on the score board after 20 overs.

CSK captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and chose to bowl first against the Delhi Daredevils. The opening pair Quinton de Kock (24 runs of 16 balls; 4 x 3 and 6 x 2) and Murali Vijay (35 runs of 30 balls; 4 x 2, 6 x 1) kicked off the DD innings in a style and gave a hint to the opponents that they are not going to give up easily this time. However, as soon as de Kock’s turned out to be a run out victim by Ravindra Jadeja, Delhi Daredevils got a jolt when 5th over was in progress followed by Kevin Pietersen’s dismissal at zero when Mohit Sharma took the charge.

Things slightly turned in favor of DD when wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik arrived on the crease and smashed 51 runs from 36 balls, hitting four classy boundaries and three huge sixes. The 28 year old right-handed player had to depart when Ben Hilfenhaus stunned him with an attractive spell. Laxmi Shukla did the same as that of his skipper and was sent back to the pavilion post succumbing to Ravichandran Ashwin.

Vijay who was looking forward to a good partnership had to leave the 22 yards pitch in Jadeja’s over. It was stylish JP Duminy and Kedar Jadhav who played impressive knocks of 28 and 29 runs, respectively, remaining not out till the end. On one hand, Duminy caught the attention by striking 5 boundaries, while on the other hand, the Pune born cricketer Jadhav showed his strong presence by hitting 3 fours and a couple of sixes. As soon as 120 balls were bowled by CSK, a fighting total of 178 runs were scored by Delhi Daredevils, who seemed of being at the winning side at that point of time. But scenario was totally changed the moment Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum (32 runs of 35 balls; including 5 boundaries) came to bat. Doing a solid partnership with the opener, McCullum was trapped by Laxmi Shukla in 11.2 overs.

Smith was a true show stealer as his heroic attempts to hit big shots imparted major role in crushing Delhi Daredevils. The 31 year old player turned destructive by smashing 8 sixes and 4 fours before succumbing to Wayne Parnell. DD was in game by this time, but their hopes to register victory were ruined by Suresh Raina and Dhoni who scored 47 and 12 runs, respectively. Raina was back in the business by exhibiting superb boundaries in the different corner of the ground. The winning shot was hit by CSK skipper, making his ‘potential 11’ log sixth victory in a row. In an another match on the same day, Rajasthan Royals beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 10 runs at Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera.

Related Articles